RevelationHeading.jpg (12428 bytes)


Map7.jpg (10537 bytes)
The Seven Churches

(1) Church of Ephesus (Revelation 2:1-6)

Roughly from CE 33-70 (Marking the fall of Jerusalem).

1. Unto the angel [messenger, Paul] of the church of Ephesus ["first" or "desirable," not derived from the word itself, but because Ephesus was the first city of the province] write; These things saith he that holdeth the seven stars [messengersPaul, John, Arius, Waldo, Wycliff, Luther and Russell] in his right hand [the place of his guidance, protection, care and favor], who walketh in the midst of the seven golden candlesticks [supervises the seven stages of the churches];

2. I know thy works, and thy labor, and thy patience, and how thou canst not bear them which are evil: and thou hast tried them which call themselves apostles, and are not, and hast found them liars:

3. And hast borne [with constancy], and hast patience [cheerful endurance], and for my name’s sake hast labored, and hast not fainted.

4. Nevertheless I have somewhat against thee, because thou hast left thy first love.

5. Remember, therefore, from whence thou art fallen, and repent, and do the first works; or else I will come unto thee quickly, and will remove thy candlestick out of his place [from the position of my favor], except thou repent.

6. But this thou hast, that thou hatest the deeds of the Nicolaitanes [those who are conquerors of the people; the "man of sin" was already working in the church endeavoring to lord it over the saints], which I also hate.

7. He that hath an ear [receptive and understanding mind], let him hear what the Spirit [of promise] saith [indicates] unto the churches [unto all seven periods of the churches]; To him that overcometh will I give to eat [participate] of the tree of life [everlasting life and also the knowledge of good and evil], which is in the midst of the paradise of God [the central part of God’s kingdom].


Click to go to the following:

         Chapter/Verse by Verse Studies on:
7 Churches Verse by Verse Home Page
Ephesus - Smyrna - Pergamos - Thyatira - Sardis - Philadelphia - Laodicea

Topical Studies on:
7 Churches Topical Study Home Page
Ephesus - Smyrna - Pergamos - Thyatira - Sardis - Philadelphia - Laodicea

Topical Study Home Page - Chapter Study Home Page - Questions - Glossary.

E-Mail  with comments.

Copyright 2001 John Class